Fuck you Madison Avenue

I love Mad Men. Aside from Perry Mason, The Twilight Zone, and the 3rd season of The Brady Bunch, it’s my favorite show. This last season is kind of a downer, though. There are only 2 episodes left in the series and I kind of feel like I’m the guy who is falling out of the window in the opening credits. In 2 weeks I will go splat on the pavement. It’s so existential.

I guess that’s how it’s supposed to make you feel. I don’t know, maybe. I’m not really good at being able to figure out all of the nuances and meaning behind books and movies and tv shows.

What does this really mean? What is the purpose? What is this supposed to represent? blahbiddy blahbiddy blah blah.

Fuck, I don’t know. I just know how it makes me feel. Empty.

That’s how advertising is, though. Look at all of these pretty things you should buy. Look at all of the colors. Everybody is going to have one. Don’t be left out. Keep up with the hip times.
Then you buy that junk. A few months later you’re like, “This is a fucking piece of crap”. Then it ends up rotting in the backyard, or tossed on the curb to take up space in the landfills.

Look at these cigarettes. Aren’t they glamorous? Don’t the people smoking them look happy? Look at the Marlboro Man. Isn’t he a super macho stud? Smoke a Marlboro and he’ll have mind-blowing sex with you. Under the stars on the open range.
That doesn’t happen. You just end up dying a horrible, lung-hacking death. Splat on the pavement. But for a while, you feel fabulous. Cool. Part of the in crowd.

That’s how this season of Mad Men makes me feel. All happy and groovy and cool in the beginning. But now…Time is running out and I’m like, “What the fuck did it all mean and why do I feel all empty inside”?

Categories: Television

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

