Daily Prompt – Baggage Check

We all have complicated histories. When was the last time your past experiences informed a major decision you’ve made?

Okay, first of all I hate this question. Look at the way it’s written. I’m like, “What?”
…and second, I don’t have a complicated history. Not everybody does, you know.

Some people learn after the first mistake.  It takes me about 10 goof ups because I decide to alter a decision based on past experiences. It’s like that saying, “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results”. Well, I expect different results. I mean, people win the lottery don’t they? They don’t quit after the first loss. Sure, some of them end up in the gutter, or jumping off of the roof of the nearest building, but sometimes…JACKPOT!

There is a fine line when it comes to knowing when to quit. I guess it has to do with passion. If you don’t like baseball, then why keep on trying to learn how to hit the ball?
No matter how many times your dad says, “Quit hitting like a girl!” You can’t be good at everything. Even though some people I know think they are.

Oh that’s simple. I know how to do that.

Well, no you fucking don’t. I’ve seen you. You look like an idiot.

But, if you really, REALLY want to do something, then you’re going to keep at it no matter how many times people tell you it’s futile, or how many times you fail.

But, then again, there is a fine line between passion and stupidity. If you can’t sing – I mean REALLY can’t sing, then don’t try out for American Idol or The Voice. You’ll never make it. Take all of that energy and passion and channel it into something else. Another part of the music industry where you DON’T sing. You could learn to play an instrument. With lots of practice you can become quite proficient. That’s because instruments are man-made and can be finely crafted. You can’t really do that with your voice. It’s kind of hard to make your voice sound like a strad when you come out of the womb with vocal chords commensurate with a kazoo. But, then again, we live in that electronic age where it’s pretty much all done in the studio. You don’t really have to know how to sing, but if you want to win one of those shows, you kind of do.
So, become a sound engineer, or agent, or something.

faux picI really like art. But, I don’t have a natural ability for it. Not the kind I want. I want verisimilitude, but everything ends up stick figure. I try to do realism and it turns out paint-by-number sad clown. So, I can’t make stuff look real. That doesn’t mean that I can’t do some type of abstract. I can draw some black lines and color them it with primary colors. Instant Mondrian. Or throw cans of paint on a big piece of canvas. Instant Pollock. But, it’s still fake. I didn’t put any thought behind it. I don’t know what it means. It just looks cool. I guess that’s good enough for me.

I guess that’s what I’ve learned from past experiences. If you like doing something, go ahead and keep on doing it. No matter what anyone says. Just don’t expect to make a living from it. Just stick it on a blog or something.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/baggage-check/

Categories: Daily Prompt

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

