Daily Prompt – Blogger With a Cause

If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

That’s a tough question because there are so many worthy causes. The world is extremely overpopulated, which intensifies each problem.

I guess I would have to say homelessness. I’ve seen it first hand. I’ve lived it. It’s not pretty.

There are so many reasons why there are so many homeless people. Mental Illness. Drug addiction. The economy. PTSD. There is a specific reason for each homeless person.

I’ve had friends and family members admonish me for giving money to a homeless person.

You worked hard for that money. Why are you giving it to someone who is going to probably spend it on drugs?

Okay, no. 1, you don’t know that. You don’t know that person’s story. You don’t know why that person is on the street. They’re people, not garbage.
And no. 2, it’s my money and I’ll throw it out the frickin’ window if I want to.

They call it foolishness. I call it compassion. I’ve always had a place in my heart for those who, for whatever reason, temporarily can’t help themselves. I have no time for those who sit in their middle-classed ivory towers and complain about insignificant nonsense. Their causes based on selfishness.

We need to do something about this or that, because it effects me.

Personally, I don’t care about your crap. You have a house, you have a car, and you don’t have to eat out of trash dumpsters. You are protected from the elements. You don’t have to look for a place to sleep every night. You’re pretty much one of the luckiest people on the face of the earth.

There is so much more that I could say on the subject, but this is just a daily prompt answer, and not a discourse on what is wrong with the world and it’s people. I don’t have a solution to the problem. It’s too complicated. I just know that if my responsibilities were taken care of and I could throw myself completely behind a cause, that would be it.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/blogger-with-a-cause/



Categories: Daily Prompt

Tags: ,

1 reply

  1. good for you… keep giving them money, and I will too.

    Like

Leave a comment