Wednesday – should be fun

Happy Wednesday. This song always makes me happy.

Chubby has always been one of my faves.

I have to go into work at 11:30. It’s truck day, so that means building more furniture. That’s always fun. I like working with me hands.

Tonight is a barbeque at Uncle Jims. My Aunt Linda and her family are coming through for the night. Well, part of the family. Chip is in Chicago. Linda is on her way to a yearly reunion with college friends and is bringing her husband and youngest son, Andrew. Andrew is bipolar and on disability. With our family history it should be a blast – a laugh riot. That was sarcasm.

I’ve always stayed out of the family squabbles. I had my own problems. I always hated taking sides. Mom vs. Grandpa. Carl vs. Ed. Sue vs. everybody. One side, liberal do-gooders…one side, staunch military…one side, save the world…one side, blow up everybody. That’s enough sides to make a box. To put us in. To duke it out.

Anyway, I was always in the middle; like I said.

I’ll never forget the time that Chip was out in the streets, protesting against the war, and my sister was in Iraq, dodging getting blown up. That was doozy. It came time for my opinion and I was like, “ummmmm…world peace?”

Nobody ever talked about my issues. It was always swept under the rug. Thank goodness. I don’t know if I could have handled all of that mess.

There’s a gay person in our family. Maybe if we don’t talk about it, it will just disappear.

Yeah, well, I never did.

Anyway, I have to go to work now. T0 a job that – according to my family – doesn’t utilize my full potential. That’s okay, what do they know. I like it and it makes me happy. 🙂

Categories: The Bob Files

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

