Daily Prompt : Smell You Later

Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

Aqua Velva takes me back
To fine old Daddy-O
He would splash it on his face
And on the radio
Petula Clark would sing about
The traffic in the city
And lingering on the sidewalk where
The neon lights were pretty

Sometimes I miss my Daddy-O
He left me way too soon
His handsome aqua velva face
Beneath the shining moon
So every time I think of him
And how he’s not around
I splash some aqua velva on
And take myself downtown

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/smell-you-later/

Categories: Daily Prompt, Poem, poetry

Tags: , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Same as my Daddy-O. Thanks for the memory and the like!

    Like

  2. Wonderful sense memory. All of the men on both sides of my family wore Old Spice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

