Father’s Day

Well, today was Father’s Day. It’s the first Father’s Day since my stepfather Carl died and the 35th since my real father died. I didn’t really feel anything. Everybody was posting stuff on Facebook and Instagram. Some people paid homage to their dead fathers. I had a few cousins who did that. They posted old pictures. I makes me feel weird to do that. Like when somebody who’s dead still has a Facebook page and it pops up ‘today is (dead person’s) birthday’. That creeps me out to no end. It makes me feel like I’ve seen a ghost.

I won’t do it on Facebook, but I’ll do it here. It’s different on WordPress. I don’t really know why; it just is. WordPress is more intimate. You’re more anonymous. It’s not really a big social circus. I can’t thrust my dead dad into the center ring. I just can’t do it.

Anyway, here’s a picture of my dad in 1959. He was 21.

IMG_1743

Here’s the rest of the family. My dad, my mom (22) and me (2). My sister wasn’t born yet.

IMG_1744
He came from a family of 9 kids; 5 girls and 4 boys (one boy and 4 girls are still alive). He was born in 1938 and was a Viet Nam vet. His name was Rollan, but everybody called him Sam. He died in 1980 from heart failure. He was 43.

Categories: The Bob Files

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Thanks for sharing these with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

