Quintilus

The daily prompt was particularly obnoxious today, so I’m skipping it. Chalk it up to Invita Minerva. Anyway…

It’s Wednesday. And July 1st. I have a birthday this month. Birthdays annoy me.

happy birth

When I was a kid I loved birthdays. Each one was one step closer to getting the hell out of Dodge. Then one day you do get out of Dodge. And land right smack dab in the middle of Tombstone.

I guess I’m lucky in a way. A lot of people I know that are my age have to take a bunch of pills and stuff. So far, I have avoided that. Knock on wood.

I went to wikipedia and looked up July. I already knew that it was named after Julius Caesar. Before that it was called Quintilus. I did find out that my birthday in 2015 is the same day as:

Parents’ Day in the U.S. (call me an ungrateful child because I had no idea that such a day even existed)
National Tree Day in Australia
Father’s Day in the Dominican Republic
Navy Day in Russia

The birthstone is the ruby.
The birth flowers are the Larkspur (Delphinium staphisagria) – toxic to humans and livestock (great! just give July a poison plant), and the Water Lily (Nymphaeaceae).

Claude Monet's "Nympheas" is among the pieces to be sold at auction at Sotheby's in New York this autumn. Source: Sotheby's Holdings Inc./via Bloomberg News

Claude Monet’s “Nympheas”

Categories: The Bob Files

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

