Daily Prompt – Don’t You Forget About Me

Imagine yourself at the end of your life. What sort of legacy will you leave? Describe the lasting effect you want to have on the world after you’re gone.

I was all ready for a happy prompt, but instead I get this; reflective.

It seems like I’m surrounded by quite a few narrow-minded people. Not negative per se, but not really open to ideas other than the ones they already have.

I try to stay open to new ideas and ways of thinking. I try not to make judgments too quickly. I try to walk around in the other guys shoes awhile. I try to stay ecumenical and catholic. It’s not always easy, but I try.

Also, I don’t believe everything I see or hear on the television or on the internet and then come to some sort of rash decision. I think about it. I try to keep an open mind.

Most of the people I know think that I’m wishy-washy. It’s probably because I’m a little bit too democratic about things. They have an absolute decision about something and will not listen to any other views on the subject. Their mind is shut and locked tight. It’s difficult being surrounded by people like that.

I was raised Southern Baptist. That’s not easy when you’re a gay kid in the 60s and 70s. You get to sit and Church and listen to about how your kind are immoral and will burn in hell for all eternity. You have to hide who you are. You have to fit in with the rest of the community. Basically, you have to be an actor. You have to lie. You have to pretend. Inside you’re screaming, “Why can’t I be me? Why do I have to act like the rest of these people?”

Everybody has their own way of getting through life. When you have other people telling you how to do it that’s no life at all. You walk around like an imposter; a fake.

Eventually, you have to break the chains. You have to say, “Enough is enough”. You risk losing family members. You risk losing friends. Your life is something that they don’t understand. It’s something they don’t WANT to understand. Of course, not all people are like that. But, it’s still hard. Having people turn their back on you. Not letting you be around their kids. All because you are not the way they think you should be.

But, that’s just the way life is. Everybody’s got something. There are tons of people in this world with problems much more important than mine. And I know that.

I guess my legacy would be make an attempt to understand other people. That’s something that I always have to work on. Unfortunately, because of how I grew up, I have become somewhat cynical. That’s just what happened. A lot of it has to do with resentment. Resentful of growing up in an environment of racism, homophobia, and xenophobia. The thought of thinking that other people are beneath you. People just not understanding each other. I must say I’m quite sick of it all.

But that’s just me.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/dont-you-forget-about-me/

Categories: Daily Prompt

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

