Daily Prompt – Future’s Past

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

I was a pretty obnoxious kid. I was always putting on some kind of show. Whether alone in my room, or in front of people. I wanted to be famous.

I went through various stages on how to get there.

For a while, I wanted to be a movie star. I would buy all of the movie magazines and read about how fabulous their lives were.

Then, for a while I wanted to be a singer. I was sure I would be the next Donny Osmond. I  was quite good. Then my voice changed. No so good anymore.

There was a time when I wanted to be a magician. I read all kinds of magic books. I even learned a few tricks. I sucked, so I gave that up.

One day I decided that I wanted to be in the circus. So, I learned how to juggle. I was pretty good. I performed in school talent shows. Then I went to a juggler’s convention. I quickly found out I wasn’t all that.

One time I wanted to be a famous mystery writer, like Agatha Christie. That phase lasted for about 2 weeks.

Oh yes, and let’s not forget the I want to be the next Emily Dickinson stage. That was about 2 months of bad poetry.

When I was in high school, I wanted to be a famous composer/conductor. I would write little instrumental pieces and my friends would perform them while I conducted. Later, that evolved into I want to write pop songs. They all sounded the same.

I want to be a jazz musician! I was in a jazz quartet. We even got 1st place in a state talent show. Then we broke up.

One time I wanted to be the next van Gogh, or Monet. The only problem was that I was awful at painting. Everything came out looking like a paint be number sad circus clown. I nixed that idea.

As far as any of those coming to fruition…well, that didn’t happen. But, I have used various degrees of each one in the jobs that I’ve had. Especially when I lived in Las Vegas.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/futures-past/

Categories: Daily Prompt

Tags: , ,

3 replies

Leave a Reply

