Wednesday junk

So, it was really hot today. 107 with the heat index.Plus, it was truck day Unload a semi full of furniture, unbox furniture, put furniture together, tag the furniture with prices, place furniture in appropriate spot… Some of that stuff is heavy. Big couches and book cases and desks, etc.

Today was better than last week. I took more small breaks and stayed hydrated. No telling how much gatorade I drank. I’ve gotten a serious farmer tan this summer.

I abhorred the daily prompt today. So, I didn’t do it. Writing about mothers is so weird for me. Writing about FAMILY is weird.

I started playing this trivia game on my phone and kindle fire. You play against people all over the world. There are tons of categories to pick from. I’ve mostly been playing the American Literature category. Currently I’m ranked best in the state and in the top ten worldwide. That’s not really saying much. It’s an online trivia game, not a Harvard Lit final.

Anytime I do any kind of trivia my best categories are always history, literature and geography. You’d think it would be music and art, but it’s not. I think it’s because of all those years of studying for game show tryouts. I concentrated on the stuff I sucked at. So much that it became the stuff I was good in.

I’m not an extremely voracious reader, but I have my moments. I really love Kurt Vonnegut and Philip Roth. Oh yeah, and John Cheever.

I’ll never forget the time I decided to read …and Ladies of the Club by Helen Hooven Santmyer. About 1400 pages, I think. I got to about page 700 and noticed that some of it seemed familiar. Like I’d already read it. That’s when I noticed that the book was goofed up. After page 703 or 4 it went back to page 200 and something. It was repeating itself. So, I missed out on 500 or so pages. The last few chapters were correct. I had to go all the way down to Book Star and buy it again.

I’ve read all the Agatha Christies. The only one I was able to figure out before the end was The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I was so proud of myself, even though the killer was SO obvious.

danish modernI also like those Cat Who… books by Lillian Jackson Braun. I haven’t read them all, but they’re a hoot.

I also really like pulp and crime fiction. Raymond Chandler is a fave. He writes the best lines.

There is no trap so deadly as the trap you set for yourself.
Dead men are heavier than broken hearts.
To say goodbye is to die a little.

How can you not love those lines?

I also love the first and last lines of classic novels.

The cold passed reluctantly from the earth, and the retiring fogs revealed an army stretched out on the hills, resting.

That’s the opening of The Red Badge of Courage. I probably typed it about a gazillion times when I was learning how to type via Mavis Beacon. I never took typing in high school or college, so at age 49 I bought the Mavis Beacon program and learned on my computer. It took a while, but I finally got up to 70 words a minute. I still suck at numbers and the asterisk and dollar sign and pound sign and all that mess.

Well, I guess I should go. This is just all random junk anyway.

I never saw any of them again – except the cops.No way has yet been invented to say goodbye to them.

Ciao

Categories: The Bob Files

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

