Thursday

beatnikSo, I finished A Visit From the Goon Squad. It was worth the read. The penultimate chapter was a power point presentation by a 12 year old. It was kind of hard to read on the kindle fire. You couldn’t change the text size or make the presentation bigger. I got through it…finally. It tied in a few of the chapters.

Each chapter in the book could stand on it’s own as a short story. It was a tad bit difficult keeping up with some of the characters. Someone from chapter four would show up interacting with someone from chapter 8 and I would be like, “Okay, now who is that again”?

I don’t know if it was worth of the Pulitzer, but then again, I haven’t read everything that was up for nomination that year, so maybe it was.

Yesterday, work was rather difficult. It was delivery day. The truck drivers over the past 2 months have been rather insufferable. It’s a different driver every week and it seems like they just keep getting worse. Some are rather abusive. The guy yesterday was awful. He kept throwing boxes out of the back of the truck expecting me and Dylan to catch them. I was like, “Really…way to be professional”. It got annoying. After a while I just let the stuff fall to the ground. If the company I work for doesn’t care about their products, then I guess, neither do I.

About a month and a half ago, there was a driver who said he didn’t like white people. Why are you telling me this? Just pretend I’m an extraterrestrial or something for the next few hours. You like aliens, right?

Then there was the guy who kept saying he was going to quit. Every 5 minutes. “This sucks. I’m never coming back here. I’m going to quit”.
Okay, fine. Just quit dude. Either shut up, or do it.

Then there was the guy who kept stopping every 2 minutes to take a break. “Today’s my birthday. I’m too old for this. I need a break”.
Then why are you doing it. Again, shut up.

Every week – a different driver and a different story. I’ve been wanting to write a letter or something to the company explaining the situation. But, I know from past experience that they don’t care. Nothing would change. So, you just suffer through it and hope that the next guy will be better.

I got another complaint of the Final Jeopardy post yesterday. The lady was all up in arms because last week somebody spelled the answer wrong and it was not accepted. Yesterday, someone spelled the answer wrong, and it WAS accepted. “UNFAIR!”, she said. I just deleted it. What is the point of answering back and trying to explain when you know they’re not going to get it. It’s not about the spelling. It’s about the pronunciation of the word. If you add an extra vowel that changes how the word it said, then it’s going to be wrong. But, if it’s spelled incorrectly, but still sounds the same when you pronounce it, then it’s going to be correct. Don’t you watch the show, duh.
Sometimes I wonder why I even bother with that mess.

America’s Next Top Model started last night. There is a girl from Arkansas on there. She seems okay. That show is not what it used to be, but I still watch it. One of those guilty pleasures.

Anyway, I’m off today. I’ll probably look for another book to download, or maybe some music. We’ll see.

Caio.

Categories: The Bob Files

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

